Academic Catalog 2018–2019

jump to navigation

School of Arts & Sciences


The School of Arts & Sciences stands at the core of LAU’s liberal arts tradition, and is home to the university’s oldest programs. Graduates from the School of Arts & Sciences are sought by diverse employers in all fields. Offering numerous degrees at the undergraduate and graduate levels, the school strongly believes in the importance of reaching out to the community and practicing civic engagement.

Mission & Vision

The School of Arts and Sciences offers a rigorous and innovative education that embraces liberal arts and sciences through critical inquiry, creativity, and research. The School is committed to student centeredness, academic excellence, and the dissemination of knowledge. It aims to develop informed and civically engaged global citizens, and strives to graduate life-long learners, ethical scholars, scientists, professionals, and artists to lead in a rapidly evolving world.

School Administration

The School of Arts & Sciences has a presence at both LAU campuses, in Beirut and Byblos.

The school houses the departments of:

Furthermore, the school administers the:

The school is led by one academic dean assisted by three assistant deans, and the chairs and associate chairs of departments. The Dean is the chief academic officer of the school and provides leadership and supervision on all consequential functions that affect the progress of the school. The assistant deans work on school-wide functions and matters in coordination with the chairs. The chairs and the associate chairs provide leadership to the departments in order to enhance the quality and reputation of the department.


  • Costantine Daher, Ph.D., Biomedical Sciences  Interim

Assistant Deans

  • Samer Habre, Ph.D., Mathematics
  • Haidar Harmanani, Ph.D., Planning and Research
  • Robin Taleb, Ph.D., Medical Science


  • Danielle Azar, Computer Science, Chair, Department of Computer Science and Mathematics
  • Rima Bahous, Ed.D., Education, Chair, Department of Education
  • Vahid Behmardi, Ph.D., Arabic Literature, Chair, Department of Humanities
  • Victor Khachan, Ph.D., Applied Linguistics, Department of English
  • Jad Melki, Ph.D., Journalism and Media Studies, Chair, Department of Communication Arts
  • Marwan Rowayheb, Ph.D., Political Science and International Affairs, Chair, Department of Social Sciences
  • Sima Tokajian, Ph.D., Microbial Genomics, Chair, Department of Natural Sciences

Associate Chairs

  • Nadra Assaf, Ed.D., Education, Department of Humanities and Communication Arts   Byblos
  • Dany Badran, Ph.D., English Studies & Critical Linguistics, Department of English   Byblos
  • Sami Baroudi, Ph.D., Political Science, Department of Social Sciences   Beirut
  • Hussein Hassan., Ph.D., Food Science, Department of Natural Sciences   Beirut
  • Azzam Mourad, Ph.D., Electrical and Computer Engineering, Department of Computer Science and Mathematics   Beirut


  • Ms. Laila Ghorayeb, Senior Executive Assistant, Beirut
  • Ms. Nelly Abboud, Senior Executive Assistant, Byblos
  • Ms. Gioia Wehbeh, Assessment Officer

Degrees Offered

Undergraduate Majors

Graduate Programs


Non-Degree Programs

* Pending completion of registration formalities with the New York State Education Department.

Contact Information


  • Ms. Laila Ghorayeb

Senior Executive Assistant, Beirut campus


  • Ms. Nelly Abboud

Senior Executive Assistant, Byblos campus

Staff office hours are 8 a.m. - 12:30 a.m. and 1 p.m. - 4:30 p.m (during fall and spring semesters). If you are calling from outside LAU, dial +961-1-786-456 and enter the extension when prompted.