Academic Catalog 2018–2019

jump to navigation

Department of Communication Arts


The Department of Communication Arts offers a rigorous and innovative education through a liberal arts curriculum that balances theory and practice and embraces critical inquiry, creativity, and research. The department is dedicated to excellence in the production and diffusion of knowledge and the critical practice of communication, multimedia journalism, television and film, and the performing arts. It aims to develop civically engaged and informed citizens capable of reflecting on local and global issues and their interconnectedness, and strives to graduate ethical scholars, artists, and professionals in the various communication fields and specialties.

Degrees and Minors Offered

Faculty and Staff

Associate Professors

  • Lina Abyad, Ph.D., Theater
  • Mona Knio, Ph.D., Theater
  • Jad Melki, Ph.D., Journalism & Media Studies   Chair
  • Raed Mohsen, Ph.D., Interpersonal & Public  Communication, Dean of Students

Assistant Professors

  • Nadra Assaf, Ed.D., Education & Dance   Associate Chair
  • Dima Dabbous, Ph.D., Media Law & Regulation
  • Sabine El Chamaa, Ph.D., Film
  • Monika Halkort, Ph.D.,  Media & Information Technology
  • Claudia Kozman, Ph.D., Journalism & Mass Communication
  • Martin Loyato, Ph.D., Music
  • Amr Selim, Ph.D., Music


  • Nasser Chour, M.A., TV & Film


  • Tony Farjallah, M.A., TV & Film
  • Joseph Khalife, Licence in Musicology


  • Houry Gostanian, Academic Assistant   Beirut
  • Lisa Hardan, Academic Assistant Byblos

Contact Information


  • Phone number: Extension 1272
  • Address: Safadi Fine Arts Building 110B
  • Website


  • Phone number: Extension 2872
  • Address: Block A 711P
  • Website