School of Arts & Sciences


The School of Arts and Sciences is home to LAU’s oldest programs, at the core of the university’s liberal arts tradition. Graduates from the School of Arts and Sciences are sought by diverse employers in all fields. We offer numerous degrees at the undergraduate and graduate levels and the school strongly believes in the importance of reaching out to the community and being mindful civic engagement.


In keeping with the Mission of the University, the School of Arts and Sciences offers a rigorous and high quality education that emphasizes student research and inquiry while upholding the tradition of liberal arts education. The School strives to promote excellence in teaching and to nurture creative, scholarly endeavors. The School aims at developing informed citizens who will leave a mark as scholars and leaders in a complex word.


The objectives of the School of Arts and Sciences are to:

  1. Integrate and synthesize knowledge across disciplines;
  2. Encourage and foster research, discovery and independent inquiry;
  3. Prepare competent, inquisitive, life-long learners, and critical thinkers;
  4. Inculcate an understanding of scientific and quantitative, as well as qualitative, principles;
  5. Foster respect for diverse viewpoints;
  6. Celebrate diversity;
  7. Respond to local and global needs by modifying existing programs and developing new ones that are in line with the needs and requirements of the communities that it serves;
  8. Instill high standards of integrity and ethics.

School Administration

The School of Arts and Sciences is co-located in the Beirut and Byblos campuses of the Lebanese American University, and is the heart of the Lebanese American University and its oldest school. The School is the home of the liberal arts core, which is central to the mission of the University.

The School houses the Departments of Communication Arts, Computer Science and Mathematics, Education, English, Humanities, Natural Sciences, and Social Sciences. Furthermore, the School administers the Institute for Social Justice and Conflict Resolution , the Institute for Migration Studies, the Software Institute, the Teacher Training Institute, and the Early Childhood Center.

The School is led by one academic dean assisted by four assistant deans, and the chairs and associate chairs of departments. The Dean is the chief academic officer of the school and shall provide leadership and supervision on all consequential functions that affect the progress of the school. The associate and assistant deans shall work on school wide functions and matters in coordination with the chairs. The chairs and the associate chairs shall provide leadership to the departments in order to enhance the quality and reputation of the department.


  • Nashat Mansour, Ph.D., Computer Science

Assistant Deans

  • Dr. Sami Baroudi, Ph.D., Political Science
  • Dr. Costantine Daher, Ph.D., Biomedical Sciences
  • Dr. Samer Habre, Ph.D., Mathematics
  • Dr. Iman Osta, Ph.D., Mathematics Education


  • Azar, Danielle,  Computer Science, Acting Chair, Department of Computer Science & Mathematics 
  • Bacha, Nahla, Ed.D, Linguistics and TESOL, Acting Chair, Department of English 
  • Khalaf, Roy, Ph.D., Biology, Chair, Department of Natural Sciences
  • Jad Melki, Ph.D., Journalism and Media Studies, Chair, Department of Communication Arts  
  • Nabhani, Mona, Ed.D., Education, Chair, Department of Education
  • Rowayheb, Marwan, Ph.D., Political Science & International Affairs, Acting Chair, Department of Social Sciences
  • Tabar, Paul, Ph.D., Sociology, Acting Chair, Department of Humanities 

Associate Chairs

  • Abi-Habib, Ralph, Ph.D., Biology, Associate Chair (Beirut), Department of Natural Sciences
  • Aercke, Kristiaan  Ph.D., Comparative Literature, Acting Associate Chair (Beirut), Department of English
  • Assaf,Nadra, Ed.D, Education, Acting Associate Chair (Byblos), Department of Humanities and Communication Arts
  • Habre, Samer, Ph.D, Mathematics, Acting Associate Chair (Beirut), Department of Computer Science and Mathematics 
  • Tabar, Paul, Ph.D., Sociology, Acting Associate Chair (Beirut), Department of Social Sciences

Assessment Officer

  • Mrs. Sandra Akiki (Byblos)

Administrative Assistants


Ms. Laila Ghorayeb
Senior Executive Assistant, Beirut campus
Extension 1105
Office: Nicol Hall 307 C.1


Ms. Nelly Abboud
Senior Executive Assistant, Byblos campus
Extension 2333
Office: Block A 815

Degrees Offered

The School of Arts & Sciences offers the following programs of study:

Undergraduate Majors

Graduate Programs


Areas of concentration that can be taken up concurrently with a major.

Non-Degree Programs

Taken in addition to bachelor’s degree requirements.

Contact Information

To contact the Office of the Dean please call, visit or write to:


  • Ms. Laila Ghorayeb
  • Senior Executive Assistant, Beirut campus
  • Extension 1105
  • Office: Nicol Hall 307 C.1


  • Ms. Nelly Abboud
  • Senior Executive Assistant, Byblos campus
  • Extension 2333
  • Office: Block A 815
  • Staff office hours are 8 AM - 12:30 PM and 1 PM - 4:30 PM (during fall and spring semesters).
  • If you’re calling from outside LAU, dial 01-786456 and enter the extension when prompted.

Last modified: May 13, 2019