Academic Catalog 2016–2017

jump to navigation

Department of Computer Science and Mathematics


Computing technology is a major enabler of the knowledge-based economy and the backbone of the electronic revolution. Computer science is the theory and practice of representation, processing, and use of information. Almost every aspect of everyday life has been transformed by information technologies enabled by this field.

LAU was the first university in Lebanon to offer an B.S. in Computer Science. This academic program makes LAU a leader in computer science education. The program dates back to 1976, and it was the first program in Lebanon and one of the early programs in the region. Later on, the bachelor of science was followed in 1992 with a master’s degree in computer science. The BS in Computer Science Program at the Lebanese American University is accredited by the Computing Accreditation Commission of ABET,

To support the academic and research activities of the department, sophisticated computing and networking facilities are on hand, with continuous updates and expansions.


Faculty and Staff


  • Haidar Harmanani, Ph.D., Computer Engineering
  • Nashat Mansour, Ph.D., Computer Science

Associate Professors

  • Faisal Abu-Khzam, Ph.D., Computer Science
  • Danielle Azar, Ph.D., Computer Science  Chair
  • Samer Habre, Ph.D., Mathematics   Acting Associate Chair
  • May Hamdan, Ph.D., Mathematics
  • Ramzi Haraty, Ph.D., Computer Science
  • Azzam Mourad, Ph.D., Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Chadi Nour, Ph.D., Mathematics
  • Sanaa Sharafeddine, Ph.D., Electrical Engineering
  • Jean Takchi, Ph.D., Mathematics
  • Rony Touma, Ph.D., Mathematics

Assistant Professors

  • Nader El Khatib, Ph.D., Mathematics
  • Leila Issa, Ph.D., Computational and Applied Mathematics
  • Georges Khazen, Ph.D., Neuroscience

Visiting Professors

  • Rebehmed Joseph, Ph.D., Computational and Theoretical Chemistry

Senior Instructors

  • Joseph Khalife, M.S. Electrical and Computer Engineering


  • Samer Abi Ghanem, M.A. Actuarial Science


  • Ali Aleywan, Academic Computer Center Senior Administrator  Beirut
  • Tarek Dana, Academic Computer Center Supervisor   Beirut
  • Samantha-Joe El Beyrouthy, Academic Assistant   Byblos
  • Jalal Possik, Academic Computer Center Administrator   Byblos
  • Dania Shebaro, Senior Academic Assistant   Beirut

Contact Information


Extension 1813
Orme-Gray Hall 407


Extension 2481
Block A, Room 809A